Tourist Attraction Baroque Palace Halbturn at the Lake Neusiedl: Position on map

Baroque Palace Halbturn

About the author
last update on 13 Sep 2018
Travel Deals & Tips

Rates

Adult €9
Youth €7
Child €6
All rates & fees
Rate the Tourist Attraction
2
(5)

Interesting facts

Description

© Barockschloss Halbturn, schlosshalbturn.com

The park

The park of the palace is another gem to visit. It was built around 1900 and, in essence, is still in its original shape. Anton Umlauf, the horticultural director of palace Schönbrunn, made substantial contributions to the creation of this park.

 

Art and cultural events

The palace not only attracts visitors with its beauty and the imposing garden, but also with art and cultural events. Each year, a huge exhibition takes place here. The exhibition in 2013 was titled “Amber – the Gold of the North. The rediscovery of the Amber Road”. The photographer and theatre director Markus Zohner was hiking on the 5000 years old Amber Road for about 2 years. His best photographs are exhibited next to amber exhibits such as the rebuilt amber room in its original size.

 

One of the musical highlights in front of the baroque scenery is the concert series “Château Classic”. In August, the cultural association and the Lipizzaner Society invite to the horse show “Lipizzaner & Friends”. Shortly after the show, the sales exhibition “Gartenlust auf Schloss Halbturn” will be opened with exhibitors from all over Europe. In December, during the advent season, there will be a cheerful Christmas market called “Pannonischer Weihnachtsmarkt”, including punch, all kinds of delicacies and a Christmas programme to delight our guests. And culinary highlights are offered all year around in our restaurant, especially with the precious wine from our château winery.

Historical Information

The baroque palace Halbturn was built in 1711 by Lucas von Hildebrandt. He was one of the most significant public figures of Austrian late baroque architecture. In 1756, the empress Maria Theresia acquired the palace Halbturn and gave it to her daughter, archduchess Marie Christine, as a present for her wedding with duke Albert-Casimir of Sachsen-Teschen. On the occasion of this wedding, the famous ceiling fresco “Triumph des Lichts” (engl. triumph of the light) was painted by Franz Anton Maulbertsch. A huge fire on 11th August 1949 was a hard stroke of fate for the palace. Fortunately, the middle hall with its ceiling fresco did not catch on fire, but the rest of the building burned down to its foundation. Through the support given by both the federal and communal institutions the palace could be rebuilt again and now belongs to DI Markus Graf zu Königsegg-Aulendorf, the adopted son of an off-spring of the ducal family.

How to get there

By car

Take the B51 to reach Halbturn.

On the forest car park, there are approximately 80 car parks provided. From here it's only a 3 minutes walk to the palace.

Contact

Kulturverein Schloss Halbturn
Parkstrasse 4
7131
Halbturn
E-Mail
%6b%75%6c%74%75%72%76%65%72%65%69%6e%40%73%63%68%6c%6f%73%73%68%61%6c%62%74%75%72%6e%2e%63%6f%6d
+43 (0)2172 85 77
Travel Deals & Tips

Comments

Rate the Tourist Attraction
No posts available yet:
  • Nobody has posted on the wall of the Tourist Attraction "Baroque Palace Halbturn" yet
  • Be the first to comment!
Login with Google+
  • Share your personal insider tip and create new entries
  • Explore fantastic outdoor destinations when and where you want
  • Find your dream destination or discover the world on the interactive map